Perth Blue Wings win 2019 Barkley Cup

By: Dante De Caria

Ottawa, Ontario – The Perth Blue Wings captured their first championship since 1996 after a 6-3 win over the Ottawa Jr Canadians on Tuesday night inside the Earl Armstrong Arena.

Perth takes the series 4-1, and finish the post-season 12-2. They lost game one, but won four in a row for the series win.

Mack Miller’s highlightreel short-handed-goal turned out to be the winner, as it gave the Blue Wings a 4-1 lead heading into the second intermission.  The Canadians made it close in the final 10-minutes of the game, but were unable to complete the comeback.

Miller finished the game with two-goals, and as the captain, hoisted the Barkley Cup and dished it off to Johnathan Peacock after four years with the Blue Wings. Ty Power scored twice and picked up the CCHL2 Playoff MVP – scoring 13-goals and 25-points in 14 post-season games.

For Perth: Cameron Brown, Ty Power, Tyler Murphy, Corey Symington Dylan Sharpley, Sam Wilson, Jacob Steege, Vinny Quattrochi James Redmond and Matthew O’Brien all played their last CCHL2 game. Congratulations on great careers.

For Ottawa: Raphael Lecours, Johnny Pickering, Justin Turner, Devin Saumer, Jacob Romalho, Andre Giordano and Robbie Pickard played their final CCHL2 game. Congratulations on great careers.