Casselman wins their seventh EOJHL title in franchise history by defeating Perth in game 6

Photo: S. Lauwers / Article: Mason Detre


Ottawa, Ontario – The Casselman Vikings are 2022 Barkley Cup Champions as they defeat the Perth Blue Wings 6-3 in game six of the EOJHL finals. It’s Casselman’s seventh championship in franchise history. Casselman won championships in 2012 and then 2014-2018 when they won five straight titles.

The Vikings would score five unanswered goals but Perth would try to create a big comeback but it felt short. Xavier Borgia, Nico Pozzebon and Vincent Bastien each tallied 1G/1A while Charlebois added two assists on the back end. Tyler Stewart and Nicolas Chartrand also added one goal in the victory. Zachari Racine made 17 saves in the win.

Ben Langille scores twice in the loss and led the way in the playoffs with 16 goals, 11 assists and 27 points. Matthew Maas made 27 saves. Both teams went 1-for-4 on the power play.

Nico Pozzebon was named the playoffs MVP after collecting nine goals, seven assists and 17 points during the post-season. Graduating players for Casselman are Frederick Gagnier, Mathieu Talbot, Stuart Taylor, Jacob Dyer, Nicolas Chartrand, Alex Simard and Alex Charlebois. Congratulations on an amazing junior hockey career and going out by winning an EOJHL championship.

Graduation players for the Perth Blue Wings are Brayden Davidson, Carson Kazda, and Trent Harris. Congratulations on great hockey careers. The Perth Blue Wings went 9-6-2 during the playoff run while Casselman were the first 4th division seed and 8th EOJHL overall seed to win the Barkley Cup ever since the new Division Alignments Martin and Richardson Divisions in 2015-16. Casselman also becomes the first team to win a championship starting from the Wild Card series. Casselman went 13-6 during the playoff run.

The Perth Blue Wings also acknowledge the Casselman Vikings on winning it all.

Here is an interview with Casselman Vikings assistant coach Geoff Seguin prior to the EOJHL finals against Perth back on April 18th 2022.