Release | CCHL2 to Rebrand as EOJHL for 2020-21 season

Graphic by Mark Kelly


Ottawa, ON – For the 2020-21 season, whenever that opens, look for a familiar name in Junior B hockey to return. With Hockey Eastern Ontario undertaking a branch wide restructuring, the Eastern Ontario Junior Hockey League will replace the CCHL2 as the Junior B league.

For the past five seasons the CCHL2 has evolved into a top developmental league for the CCHL and levels above. That will continue with the new EOJHL but with a focus on independence as a league with 11 of the 16 teams operated without CCHL ownership. 


Sylvain Dignard, CCHL2 Chairman of the Board 

“During the last five seasons, the CCHL2 has provided many opportunities for young athletes to further develop their skills to allow them to move on to the next level. It has also been an excellent avenue for graduating players who aspired to pursue their studies while playing in a very competitive league. The mission for the EOJHL will be to continue to foster this approach for the young athletes and to continue to work in partnership with the CCHL and the NCJHL. We are pleased to welcome Sean Marcellus as the new Commissioner for the EOJHL and look forward to working with him to continue in the footsteps of his predecessor. I also want to take this opportunity to thank Kevin Abrams for his dedication and leadership during these last 5 years.” 

Sean Marcellus, EOJHL Commissioner 2020-21 

“I take great pride in being named Commissioner of the Eastern Ontario Junior Hockey League. I originally had my first hockey job in the old EOJHL working with the Arnprior Packers back in 2012 so to be able to take the reigns at the league level in 2020 is very exciting for me. Working alongside Kevin Abrams has benefited me in more ways than I can explain, he gave me a chance five years ago and his leadership and direction has prepared me greatly for this position. I am very thankful to our board of governors for showing confidence in me and I am excited at being tasked at helping lead this league in a positive manner moving forward.” 

Kevin Abrams, CCHL2 Commissioner 2015-2020 

“For the past five seasons I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with the CCHL2 as their Commissioner and it gives me great pleasure to see Sean Marcellus elevated to that role. He has worked tirelessly for five years as Director of Hockey Operations and knows the inner workings well. I wish him well. What began as a temporary stop for a year became five years in a flash. I wish to thank the entire membership of the CCHL2, Chairman Sylvain Dignard as well as the League Executive for their outstanding support. Stepping down allows me to focus on my role as Commissioner of the CCHL as I enter my fifteenth season, and my fourth year as Chairman of the Canadian Junior Hockey League. I look forward to working with the EOJHL and other entities in HEO this season and beyond.”


More Information to come.